Coverage: Full Text
Indexes, abstracts and provides full text for the following: Baltimore Sun: 1990 - present, Christian Science Monitor: 1988 - present, New York Times + Book Review & Magazine: 1999 - present, Wall Street Journal: 1984 - present, Washington Post: 1987 - present
Does not include pictures or graphics
Coverage: Full Text
Includes NEWS: major U.S. and world newspapers, broadcast transcripts, foreign language publications, premium blogs and Twitter® feeds, and foreign language publications; LEGAL: law reviews and journals, Federal and State cases and statutes, and Shepard’s Citation Service; and BUSINESS: company profiles and dossiers, and SEC documents.
American Periodicals Series Online™ (APS Online) includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from1740-1941. Titles include 89 journals published between 1740 and 1800; 118 periodicals published during the Civil War (1861-1865) and Reconstruction (1865-1877) eras; general interest magazines, children's publications, and more than 20 journals for women.
Chronicling America allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
A comprehensive list of newspapers available online, listed by state.
The newspaper microfilms are located on the second floor of the library in the cabinets in front of the Honors College. Indexesto selected newspapers are located on the first floor of the library at the front of the Reference Collection.
The Afro-American. various editions 1893-2002. Available online at local public libraries.
The Sun [Baltimore]. 1837- . Print copies to the 1960s available in Special Collections by request. Baltimore Sun Historic available online at local public libraries.
The Evening Sun [Baltimore]. 1910-1995.
Christian Science Monitor. 1908-2001. Index: 1973-1979 available in Reference.
New York Times. 1851- . Print Index: 1851-2008 available in Lower Level Abstracts & Indexes.
Times of London. 1785- . Index: Palmer's Index to the Times 1790-1985 available in Reference.
Wall Street Journal. 1889- . Index: 1967-1983 available in Reference.
Washington Post. 1961- . Index: 1972-1999 available in Reference.
Popular & Alternative Press
Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature 1890-2000
Index to articles in popular mainstream magazines and periodicals. Located at the front of the Reference Collection.
Coverage: Some Full Text
API is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary. Coverage begins in 1991. Paper index available from 1971-1991 in Reference. UMBC holds the Alternative Press backfile in Special Collections.
Alternative Press Index [print]
Indexes articles in the alternative / radical press (1970-1990). Titles indexes are held in Special Collections
Coverage: Late 19th - mid 20th cen
The Radical Literature Collection includes books, pamphlets, and other publications on and by Communist, Socialist, Labor and other left- and right-of-center political organizations and individuals.